Search This Blog

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Utah Law ID Scanner Requirements

The Utah Department of Alcohol Beverage Control does not provide a list of approved ID Scanners or electronic age verification devices. Below is a summary of the requirements. The most unique aspect of Utah's new law is the requirement that data be deleted in seven (7) days or 168 hours. This section of the law appears to be a compromise between privacy concerns and the needs of merchants/law enforcement. The exact rule may be and is summarized below.

● An electronic age verification device:
a) must contain the technology to read a magnetic stripe and a two dimensional (“2d”) stack symbology (bar code), or an alternate technology capable of electronically verifying the proof of age; and
b) shall be capable of reading a valid state issued driver’s license, a valid state issued identification card, a valid military identification card, or a valid passport;
c) shall have a screen that displays no more than a person’s name, age, ID number, birth date, gender, ID status & expiration date; and
d) shall have the capability of electronically storing the name, age, ID number, birth date, gender, ID status & expiration date for seven days (168 hours) including the time and date the proof of age was scanned.
● If the proof of age cannot be scanned electronically, an alternative method of verifying an individual’s proof of age shall include a record or log showing the type, number, and expiration date of the ID; the date the ID was presented, the individual’s name and date of birth.
● Any data collected either electronically or otherwise, may only be used for the purpose of verifying an individual’s proof of age and may not be retained by the licensee in a data base for mailing, advertising, or promotional activity, to acquire personal information to make inappropriate personal contact with the individual, and shall be retained for a period of seven days from the date on which it was acquired, after which it must be deleted. The data collected may be acquired by law enforcement, or other investigative agencies.

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Utah Law Requires ID Scanners for Age Verification

March 30, 2010

The Law allows private clubs to covert to a public club if they use an ID Scanner to check people who look younger than 35 years out.

Its an effort to make the state boost the state's $6 billion a year tourism industry and remove Utah's notoriously quirky liquor laws. Tourists in search of a beer and a bite to eat after hitting the ski slopes frequently walk out of bars once told they're for members only. A separate membership, costing at least $4, is required at every bar.

The new law will also allow restaurants to take down partitions known as "Zion Curtains" that separate bartenders from customers in restaurants. Currently, bartenders or servers must walk drinks around the bar before they're allowed to serve them.

The name "Zion Curtain" is a reference to the state's religious heritage as the home of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, which tells its members to abstain from alcohol. The Mormon church counts about 60 percent of the state's population among its members

As part of a compromise, the state will impose tougher DUI and underage drinking penalties. Utah will also become the first state in the country to require bars to scan the ID of anyone who appears younger than 35 before being allowed to enter.

Information obtained through the ID scan, including name, age and address, will be kept on site for seven days so it can be accessed by law enforcement, despite concerns that keeping the information is a violation of privacy.

Article from